

Kilbirnie Tennis Club

Annual General Meeting Minutes 7 August 2022

Meeting held

Sunday 7 August 2022 at Kilbirnie Tennis Club, Crawford Road, Kilbirnie.

Present

Catherine Beard - Chair, Peter McArthur - Secretary,

Catherine Carter, Diana Maunder, Fiona Malcolm, Himesh Patel, Karen Rigby,

Marcia Rew, Marco Vasquez, Martin Rigby, Michelle McKibbin,

Richard Braakhuis, Richard Xu, Rie Shimada.

Apologies Ad

Adrian Macey, Glinecka Goodfellow, Hiromi Morris, Lance McEldowney,

Moyra Pearce, Sophie Ngo, Tim Park.

Meeting times Commenced: 3:00pm. Closed: 4:10pm

Item	Discussion	Action
Meeting Quorum	A quorum (minimum of 10 people) was present for the AGM.	
Minutes of 2020 Annual General Meeting	Minutes of previous meeting were received. Matters arsing Catherine Carter, Diana Maunder, Marcia Rew, and Michelle McKibbin stated that they did not agree with some items being characterised as complaints (rather than as points raised). Catherine Beard and Peter McArthur stated that they thought that	
	the minutes, recorded contemporaneously with the meeting, fairly represented content and tone. Previous minutes were confirmed (9 for, 5 against).	
Presentation of Annual Reports	Annual reports were tabled including 2021–22 Financial Statements. Catherine Beard highlighted some key successes and set backs in the last year – see 2022 AGM reports. Comments Catherine Carter said she thought the graphs were misleading. Others disagreed with her comment. Reports, including 2021–22 Financial Statements, were adopted (13 for, 1 against).	
Membership Subscription Recommenda- tions	 Membership subscriptions for 2022–23 year: a) Full-year Senior subscription to be \$229. b) Full-year Student subscription to be removed to reduce administration. c) Full-year Junior 12-18 subscription to be \$130. d) Full-year Junior <12 subscription to be \$105. e) Rebate for families with three or more members to be remain at 15%. f) Proportional reduction to remain for new members joining after 31 October. g) Affiliation fee deduction to remain for members who have already paid their affiliation fee at another club. h) Casual fee to be \$10 per person per session. 	

Item	Discussion	Action
	Definitions:	
	 Senior means a person aged 19 years or older as at 30 Apr 2023. 	
	 Junior 12-18 means a person aged between 12 and 18 years inclusive as at 30 Apr 2023. 	
	 Junior <12 means a person aged 11 years or younger as at 30 Apr 2023. 	
	 New member means a person who has not been a member of the club in the previous <u>year</u>. 	
	 Proportional reduction means month-wise reduction to the applicable full-year subscription, excluding the affiliation fee. 	
	Affiliation fee means the component of the subscription that covers costs of affiliation with Tennis Central Region and in turn Tennis New Zealand (TNZ) and the International Tennis Federation (ITF).	
	Discussion	
	 Catherine Carter objected to the fee increase and asked that the Committee to do more fund-raising and increase junior fees instead of senior fees. 	
	Acceptance of membership subscriptions. Moved Catherine Beard, seconded Peter McArthur. Carried (13 for, 1 against).	
Interclub Fee	Interclub fees for 2022–23 year.	
Recommenda- tions	Senior interclub fees:	
	 One fee for both pre-Xmas and post-Xmas interclub seasons. Fee to be based on competition costs, balls costs, assistance from grants, and number of interclub players. A standard fee will be used for all interclub players in each competition set (Tecnifibre, Midweek, Winter). 	
	 One fee for post-Xmas season for players starting interclub in post-Xmas season. Again a standard fee will be used. 	
	Junior interclub fees:	
	 \$25 for both pre-Xmas and post-Xmas interclub seasons. 	
	 \$15 for post-Xmas season only, for players starting interclub in post-Xmas season. 	
	Partial refunds may be available for players who play pre-Xmas but who are not able to play post-Xmas, provided they provide notification before the registration close-off date of the post-Xmas season.	
	Acceptance of interclub fees. Moved Catherine Beard, seconded Peter McArthur. Carried unanimously.	

Item	Discussion	Action
Election of Officers	The outgoing officers are: President – Catherine Beard, Secretary – Peter McArthur, Treasurer – Sophie Ngo, Club Captain – Jessie Nash.	
	Catherine Beard expressed appreciation for the work of all the officers over the last year.	
	Nominations for officers.	
	 President. Nominee Catherine Beard. Nominated by Karen Rigby, seconded by Peter McArthur. 	
	 Secretary. Nominee Karen Rigby, Nominated by Peter McArthur, seconded by Catherine Beard. 	
	 Treasurer. Nominee Peter McArthur. Nominated by Karen Rigby, seconded by Catherine Beard. 	
	 Club Captain. Nominee Richard Xu. Nominated by Peter McArthur, seconded by Karen Rigby. 	
	The officers were elected unopposed.	
Election of Committee	The outgoing committee members are: Karen Rigby, Marco Vasquez, Richard Xu.	
Members	Catherine Beard expressed appreciation for the work of the committee members over the last year.	
	Nominations for committee members.	
	 Nominee Marco Vasquez. Nominated by Karen Rigby, seconded by Peter McArthur. 	
	 Nominee Anthony Kemple. Nominated by Peter McArthur, seconded by Richard Xu. 	
	 Nominee Martin Rigby. Nominated by Richard Xu, seconded by Peter McArthur. 	
	The committee members were elected unopposed.	
General	The following items were raised for the committee to consider:	New
Business	 Marcia Rew stated she did not think Catherine Carter's emails to the committee should be blocked. Committee members outlined why the block was in place. 	Comm
	Catherine Carter asked for more newsletters and that the Committee be more communicative and consultative with her. Post meeting note: the club website contains extensive information including upcoming events, tournament results, etc.	
	 Catherine Carter asked that the AGM minutes be emailed out to club members (in addition to being posted on the website). Post meeting note: club members already advised in pre-AGM emails where and when the minutes would be posted. 	
	 Michelle McKibbin requested club members be notified by email that security cameras were operating (additional to club signs). 	
	Fiona Malcolm and Martin Rigby thanked the outgoing committee for their work over the last year.	
Next AGM	July/August 2023.	