

Kilbirnie Tennis Club

Annual General Meeting Minutes 6 August 2023

Meeting held

Present

Sunday 6 August 2023 at Kilbirnie Tennis Club, Crawford Road, Kilbirnie. Catherine Beard – President, Karen Rigby – Secretary, Peter McArthur –

Treasurer, Richard Xu – Club Captain, Jane Lamb, Bryan Weyburne, Diana Maunder, Geoff Fletcher, George Westermayer, Glinecka Goodfellow, Jane Kitchenman, Jocelyn Reyners, Lachlan Whisker, Lance McEldowney, Lilly Liu, Marcia Rew, Martin Rigby, Michelle McKibbin, Moyra Pearce,

Rie Shimada, Wendy Mackevics.

Apologies Fleur Howard, Hiromi Morris, Janice Davies, Josie Bullock, Nigel Rawson,

Sandy Jeffs.

Meeting times Commenced: 3:30pm. Closed: 4:05pm

Item	Discussion	Action
Meeting Quorum	A quorum (minimum of 10 people) was present for the AGM. Apologies accepted.	
Minutes of 2022 Annual General Meeting	Minutes of previous meeting were received. Matters arsing No matters arising. Previous minutes were confirmed (all in favour).	
Presentation of Annual Reports	Annual reports were tabled including 2022–23 Financial Statements. Catherine Beard highlighted some key successes and setbacks in the last year – see 2023 AGM reports. Comments Lance McEldowney commented that he was pleased to see Janice Davies recognised for her commitment to mid-week. Reports, including 2022–23 Financial Statements, were adopted (all in favour).	
Membership Subscription Recommendati ons	 Membership subscriptions for 2023–24 year: a) Full-year Senior subscription to be \$249. b) Full-year Junior 12-18 subscription to be \$135. c) Full-year Junior <12 subscription to be \$110. d) Rebate for families with three or more members to be 10%. e) Proportional reduction to remain for new members joining after 31 October. f) Affiliation fee deduction to remain for members who have already paid their affiliation fee at another club. g) Casual fee to be \$10 per person per session. Definitions: Senior means a person aged 19 years or older as at 	
	30 Apr 2024.Junior 12-18 means a person aged between 12 and 18 years	

Item	Discussion	Action
	inclusive as at 30 Apr 2024.	
	 Junior <12 means a person aged 11 years or younger as at 30 Apr 2024. 	
	 New member means a person who has not been a member of the club in the previous <u>year</u>. 	
	 Proportional reduction means month-wise reduction to the applicable full-year subscription, excluding the affiliation fee. 	
	 Affiliation fee means the component of the subscription that covers costs of affiliation with Tennis Central Region and in turn Tennis New Zealand (TNZ) and the International Tennis Federation (ITF). 	
	Acceptance of membership subscriptions. Moved by Peter McArthur, seconded by Bryan Weyburne. Carried unanimously.	
Interclub Fee Recommendati ons	Interclub fees for 2023–24 year.	
	Senior interclub fees:	
	 One fee for both pre-Xmas and post-Xmas interclub seasons. Fee to be based on competition costs, balls costs, assistance from grants, and number of interclub players. A standard fee will be used for all interclub players in each competition set (Tecnifibre, Midweek, Winter). 	
	 One fee for post-Xmas season for players starting interclub in post-Xmas season. Again a standard fee will be used. 	
	Junior interclub fees:	
	\$35 for both pre-Xmas and post-Xmas interclub seasons.	
	 \$20 for post-Xmas season only, for players starting interclub in post-Xmas season. 	
	Acceptance of interclub fees. Moved by Peter McArthur, seconded by Bryan Weyburne. Carried unanimously.	
Election of Officers	The outgoing officers are: President – Catherine Beard, Secretary – Karen Rigby, Treasurer – Peter McArthur, Club Captain – Richard Xu.	
	Catherine Beard expressed appreciation for the work of all the officers over the last year.	
	Nominations for officers.	
	President. Nominee Catherine Beard. Nominated by Peter McArthur, seconded by Jane Lamb	
	Secretary. Nominee Karen Rigby, Nominated by Catherine Beard, seconded by Peter McArthur.	
	Treasurer. Nominee Peter McArthur. Nominated by Catherine Beard, seconded by Karen Rigby.	
	Club Captain. Nominee Richard Xu. Nominated by Catherine Beard, seconded by Lance McEldowney	
	The officers were elected unopposed.	

Item	Discussion	Action
Election of Committee Members	The outgoing Committee members are: Anthony Kemple, Jane Lamb.	
	Catherine Beard expressed appreciation for the work of the Committee members over the last year.	
	Nominations for Committee members.	
	 Nominee Jane Lamb. Nominated by Catherine Beard seconded by Peter McArthur 	
	 Nominee Anthony Kemple. Nominated by Catherine Beard seconded by Karen Rigby. 	
	The Committee members were elected unopposed.	
General	The following items were raised for the Committee to consider:	
Business	 Josie Bullock asked that the Committee consider changing the time limit on the parks outside the club from P15 to P180. 	Com- mittee
	 Moyra Pearce requested more information regarding termination of membership of a particular club member. Catherine Beard explained that this was not an AGM matter. 	
	 Jocelyn Reyners noted that Catherine Carter's gardening contribution had been omitted from the acknowledgements of volunteer contributions in the AGM report. The meeting acknowledged Catherine Carter's contribution to gardening. 	
	 Bryan Weyburne asked that the Committee consider fixing the shower valve handle in the women's toilets (so that members can have showers) and offered to contribute \$75 towards the cost. 	Com- mittee
	Diana Maunder outlined that she had asked that the Committee to consider memorials to Graham Alderton at the club. Catherine Beard explained that the Committee had been in discussions with Diana on this.	Com- mittee
	 Michelle McKibbin asked about plans to fix what appeared to be threadbare patches in the turf courts. Peter McArthur outlined that he was working with TigerTurf to resolve the problem – the patches are a type of sludge that have proved to be resistant to the regular court grooming treatments. 	Com- mittee
Next AGM	July/August 2024.	