Our History

Tennis New Zealand Masters History

The first National Masters Tournaments were held at Mitchell Park, Lower Hutt, in 1974 and again in 1975.

Unaffiliated players to New Zealand Lawn Tennis Association (NZLTA) had to pay a fee of 50c to enter.

The tournaments came about because Tom Lusk, a member of the NZLTA was asked to organise a tournament for Senior tennis players on a national basis.   Tom became a Life Member and Patron of the New Zealand Veterans Tennis Association (NZVTA).   He passed away on 24 January 2008.

The inaugural meeting of th NZLTA was held on 7 May 1976.

Chairman: Andrew Howatson
Secretary: Shirley Reidy
Committee: Tom Lusk, Ron Marston, Jim Connett, Arthur Kay & Jenny Atkin.

28 October 1976 the NZVTA Constitution was registered and the Association became independent of NZLTA.   First minutes under new constitution - 19 November 1976.

1977/1978 - 13 weekend tournaments were held throughout the country.

20 June 2005 - NZVTA Inc changed it's name to: Tennis Seniors New Zealand Inc.

9 October 2022 - TNZS Inc changed it's name to :  Tennis New Zealand Masters Inc.