2023 Club Championships

For the 2023 Club Championships (including the Veteran's & Master's competitions) we had over 80 competitors playing across the 13 different draws.  It was fantasic seeing so many players and supporters at the club over the two weeks of the event and the Veteran's (over 35) doubles competitions were interrupted by rain on two seperate occasions, we got there in the end.

There was many fantasic results with some of the highlights and winners below:

For the results of the Veterans' (over 35) and Masters (over 50) competitions please click here


2023 Wellington Tennis Club Championships

Mens Singles Champion Womens Singles Champion Mens Doubles Champions Womens Doubles Champions   Mixed Doubles Champions
Dom Miller Sanda Jukic Herve Michaud
Peter Scott
Naomi Burwell
Clare Docherty
Asoiva McKavaagh
Marty Simonlehner
Runners Up
Oscar Horsley Leilani Wakelin Henry Craib
Dan Price
Karen Donnelly
Sanda Jukic
Naomi Burwell
Maurice Fearon

The Wellington Tennis Club Unofficial Awards:

The Iron-person Award: For the player who spent the most time on court.
Winner: Maurice Fearon with approximately 21 hours of court time.

Performance of the Tournament Award: 
Joint Winners: Sanda Jukic for winning both the Open and Veteran's (over 35) Women's Singles titles and runner up in the Open Women's Doubles.
Doubles pairing of Henry Craib & Dan Price (Mens 3rd Grade team).  On their path to the Open Mens Doubles Final, they beat the #2 and #3 pairings.

Match of the Tournament:
Quarter Final Match between Maurice Fearon & David Buckrell.  Very competitive match which was decided in a tie-breaker.
Honourable Mentions: Open Women's Final between Sanda Jukic & Leilani Wakelin which went down to a 3rd Set Match Tie Breaker and the Open Men's Doubles first round match between Henry Craib & Dan Price vs Rod Moon & Dave Chan which was decided by a late service break 9-7.

Fastest Registration: Henry Craib 26 seconds

Slowest Registration: 93 minutes and 55 seconds (won't embarrass the person by naming them)

Colour done well:  Clare Dochurty.  Honorable mention: Nicky Beale