Midweek RoseBowl Tournament

Share this

The Midweek section's 2021 RoseBowl Tournament was held on Tuesday 9 March.    From the entrants, eight pairs were drawn out of a hat and assigned handicaps by the organising sub-committee.    Each pair played three matches of "first to 31" using table tennis scoring for simplicity.    Those with three wins play off for the RoseBowl trophy;   those with two wins play off for the Murgatroyd Plate.   

As it happened, Jan Henderson and Peter Browne were the only pair to achieve three wins and therefore won the RoseBowl trophy.    Three pairs achieved two wins and played off for the Murgatroyd Plate.     Richard Yuschik and Shirley Robbshaw won their semifinal against  Sharon Cottrell and Helen Wong but were defeated in the Plate final by Diona Juriss and Shane Robins.     

The tournament saw much good tennis and the near windless and sunny conditions contributed to a pleasant day with many watching the play-off matches in the early afternoon.    

Thanks are due to the Midweek sub-committee of Julie Kyle, Lesley Cicone and Sharon Cottrell for doing the draws, assigning the handicaps and scheduling the matches.    As Julie would say, "Herding the cats!".